Sullivan Farms – Tyngsboro MA

21 05 2011

There’s something about dressing up a bit that changes the way people react to you, and usually not as though you’ve just come from a funeral service. Since I was wearing a tie, I got stopped in the grocery store with questions about where stuff was stocked. Here in Tyngsboro, I think the girl making my cone wanted to see how much Black Forest I could spill on my short as the ice cream was both soft and ridiculously overflowing.

Located on the opposite side of the street from the Merrimack River, Sullivan Farms offers some great vistas on 3A just south of the 113 bridge. It’s tough to tell how long this place has been around, but the question isn’t so much a number of years, but more a number of generations. For folks north and west of Lowell, this seems to be a second home with a full parking lot and people swarming in the mid afternoon.

What’s most impressive is that when you walk around this ice cream shack and find a hilly field peppered with picnic tables and a gazebo set above them all. I stood by a table, but realized with the abundance of ice cream in my cone that if I did, half would be on my pants, so I stood next to a table on some fresh mulch – figuring the mulch was a better landing spot for a half scoop than my clothes.

With the ice cream made here on premises, nearly anything on their overflowing menu board seems like a pretty good option. I sampled some sweet cream/nut flavor, but deferred when I realized that the only nuts were walnuts rather than any sort of assortment. The thought of chocolate ice cream with chips and cherries seemed the best bet, so I opted for the black forest (though this flavor is probably best in a sundae where you can integrate the proper whipped cream portion as well).

The size of this cone was startling, but then I realized how close we were to Kimball’s and that any nearby places need to compete accordingly. Plus I was offered a dish, since she did realize that it was going to be problematic. The ice cream was fresh and nice, not quite to the same quality standards as Kimball’s maybe, but certainly on par with any other shops along the Merrimack toward the sea.

I did lose two half scoops in a bit of consuming triage, but it all made the rest of the cone go down all the better. Thankfully, I didn’t get anything on my dress shirt or tie, though hopefully I don’t have any more summer funeral services to attend. This scoop, and this day, was in honor of my 4th grade teacher Mr Stein.

Cone – kiddie $3 regular $3.75 large $4.75

Sundae – kiddie $4 regular $5 xl $7.50

Frappe $4.50 xtra-thick $5.75

Sullivan Farms Homemade Ice Cream

176 Middlesex Road, Tyngsboro, MA 01879

978 649 9202

Open March?-November?

Hours 10:30a-10p

http://sullivanfarmsicecream.com/

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

