Birthday Cones: Rota Spring Farm – Sterling MA

26 08 2009

Sometimes in the quest to find as many different variations on taste as possible, it’s easy to neglect making return visits to your favorites. As I have mentioned before, the reason I started this blog was in part to try to find something that I thought might compete with Rota Springs. Even after dropping Indian Pudding from their regular menu this year, this is my favorite place for a cone. I had a Pistachio scoop on top of a Mint Chocolate Chip, and my dad had Coconut Caramel.

Rota Spring Springs Farm Sterling Junction Mass MA Ice Cream

As you can see from the picture the new barn annex on the stand is now up in its full and painted glory. There’s a farm stand starting to take shape inside with some luscious and cheap produce. The fences around the goat herd have been moved further away from the building and there were a bunch of kids out there feeding the bottom of their cones to the animals. This is the first time that I had made it back out here since they opened for the year back in March, and seeing as today was my birthday and I had the day off, I determined that my lunch would be my favorite cone.

We had detoured through Worcester to have actual lunch with my brother, but he headed back to work rather than follow us for a cone. The best part of the diner was the linked jukeboxes. With a bunch of weird compilations and two songs for a quarter, I got Joe Tex, the Peanut Butter Conspiracy, the Pozo Seco Singers, and Lee Dorsey broadcast to all of the patrons. Even more strange was a random phone call right after from a college friend from Missouri who just got in town and is the only person I’ve ever known to actually care about the Peanut Butter Conspiracy.

My dad wove his way through all of these area back roads and came at Rota Spring from the opposite end of the road than I always do, so it was even more fun to see it appear as we hit a bend in the road. Once I looked at the menu, I knew what my dad was having since he’s a coconut fiend and that was one of the current special seasonal flavors. The other was a peach, but since I’d just had one in Duxbury, I decided to look for other options.

Ultimately, I guess I was feeling a bit green. What other impulse would make a man get two scoops with mint chocolate chip and pistachio. The pistachio came in first and with its fresh nut meats provided a strong base, while the mint and chocolate got to serve as an aperitif knocking it home and making me pine for an afternoon in the hammock. The cows weren’t out in the sun to watch as we ate, but Rota is really not lying when they claim “a herd of flavor in every scoop.” This is what makes is all worthwhile.

pistachio mint chocolate chip ice cream roat spring springs farm sterling junction mass ma

Right before I left I was chatting with a friend on line. I think were now determined to bring a posse of people out here in a van in the fall to spend some time in apple picking country. And indulge in the Indian Pudding ice cream when it is finally back on.

Original review: https://weallscreamforicecream.wordpress.com/2008/06/28/rota-spring-farm-sterling-ma/

Slight return: https://weallscreamforicecream.wordpress.com/2009/03/14/sprung-rota-spring-farm-sterling-ma/

Cone – kiddie $2.43 small $3.10 large $4.05

Sundae – 1scoop $3.81 2scoop $4.52 3scoop $5.24

Frappe $4.05 extra thick $4.52

Rota Spring Farm

117 Chace Hill Road, Sterling MA 01564

978-365-9710

Open from March to mid-November

Open daily from 11:30a-9:30p

http://rotaspringfarm.com

Actions

Information

One response

1 09 2009
BMR

Djim and I each had Peach scoops a couple of weekends ago and we were very very happy.

When is Indian pudding back?

Leave a Reply

