Caraway’s ‘N’ Creme – Wayland MA

21 03 2009

I was just out for a drive without any forethought of a cone, but my radar has become acute and the banner proclaiming ‘Ice Cream’ was in big red letters. After driving through Weston and wondering where their residents went if they were looking for a non-soft serve cone, the shops at the Wayland border seemed like a great spot. A mile on up Route 20, I found a Mint Chocolate Chip cone.

caraway's n creme ice cream wayland mass

I wonder how many times I’d driven past this place. Just from the fact that it is a bagel shop in its primary guise, I was embarrassed to have not been  here in any capacity before. It’s a bit overshadowed by Russell’s Garden Center just to the west, but I should have been more aware. This area is a bit of a vortex where ice cream is missing as there aren’t shoppes to be found in adjacent Lincoln or Sudbury.

Inside, Caraway’s is a cross between a bakery and a breakfast nook. They serve breakfast whenever they are open and most of the focus is on egg-based sandwiches and pastries. The ice cream is tucked into the front corner with an array of ice cream that is limited to ten choices plus a sherbet and three yogurts.

Needless to say, none of the options was particularly innovative, and there wasn’t really anything that I could even ask for a taste of  since the options were so ordinary. The girl who waited on me seemed shocked that I was looking for ice cream and packed my cone in a way that I haven’t seen before. She put tons of miniature scoops together to try and make it take a regular shape, but before I even got the cone to my mouth, wedges had fallen free.

Caraway’s doesn’t make their own ice cream and when I asked where my mint chocolate chip came from, I got an absolute deer-in-the-headlights expression. She did go back to the freezer and look at lids for some sort of printing and the only thing she could gather was that one of them said ‘Adam’s Farm’ on it, but research hasn’t uncovered anything on that. The ice cream was perfectly mediocre, with a taste remarkably akin to any random grocery store brand.

mint chocolate chip ice cream caraway's n creme wayland mass

The poppy seed bagels that I picked up were a few steps better than the ice cream they offered here. While they don’t match up to the sort that I got regularly when last on Long Island, they are as good as you’re going to find in the Boston Metro West area. Bagels, if you’re nearby, but this is an area that could certainly use some better ice cream.

Cone – children $1.90 1scoop $2.86 2scoops $3.33

Sundae – small $4.29 large $4.90

Milkshake – small $3.99 large $4.75

Caraway’s ‘N’ Creme

325 Boston Post Rd, Wayland, MA 01778

508 358-5025

Open year round

[Winter Hours] Monday-Thursday 7a-4p, Friday 7a-5p, Saturday 8a-5p, Sunday 8a-4p

Caraway’s online

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

