Route 1 Run: From Kittery to Portland

25 04 2009

With no real time to actually arrive in Portland last night, I decided to add more than an hour to my trip by taking Route 1 up from Kittery rather than 95. In doing so, I tried to spy every ice cream shop along the way and take an inventory of what was going on down this stretch of pavement. Because I actually stopped at the When Pig’s Fly Outlet and bought dessert, I only had one cone on this trek, and I’ll break out an individual review for that.

1. Mrs & Me
400 Us Route 1, Kittery, ME 03904
207 439-1141
mrsandme.com

mrs and & me kittery me ice cream

An easy way to start. With a sign like that all you need to do is read. And wait until May.

2. Dick Chase’s Ice Cream Plaza
1 York St, York, ME 03909
207 351-3378
wildcatpizzashop.com

dick chase ice cream plaza york me

I’d spied this place before, but now it seems too late. The inside has been gutted with only some booths and PVC plumbing remaining.

3. The Ice Cream House
1300 Us Rt. 1, York, ME 03909
207 363-5800

the ice cream house york me

Not open yet, another May place. The sign on the door includes a map that directs really hungry customer to their sister store, The Village Scoop Ice Cream in York.

4. Ben & Jerry’s Udder Delights
16 Main St, Ogunquit, ME 03907
207 646-9043
benjerry.com

ben and jerrys & udder delights ogunquit me

This is part of the pharmacy complex in downtown Ogunquit. I stuck my camera out the window.

5. Sundaes at the Beach
231 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090
207 646-5425
sundaesatthebeach.com

sundaes at the beach wells me ice cream facing away

Open and alive. I actually got a blueberry cone here, so I’ll write much more about this place.

6. Skin’s Scoop
261 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090

skin's scoop ice cream wells me

Barely a football field north of Sundaes, even the offer of dollar cones, was too quick for more than a photo

7. Dairy Queen of Wells
1517 Post Rd # 1, Wells, ME 04090
207 646-8212
dairyqueen.com

I hadn’t decided whether to take photos of every DQ on this run. This time I didn’t.

8. Big Daddy’s
2165 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090
(207) 646-5454

big daddy's ice cream wells maine

Joel from Death Vessel’s favorite place. We went here last summer. The outdoor window isn’t open yet, but they are open Wednesday-Sunday from noon-9p right now.

9. Dairy Queen Store
1 High St, Kennebunk, ME 04043
207 985-3050
dairyqueen.com

dairy queen ice cream kennebunk maine

I didn’t get out of my car to take this picture, but I did pull over to the side of the road.

10. Dairy Joy
311 Elm St, Biddeford, ME 04005
207 284-4000

dairy joy biddeford maine ice cream

This place was slammed. Cars all around people really excited. Probably their first day of the season, but then again it was eighty degrees out, people are just drawn to ice cream in such conditions.

11. Maggie Moo’s Ice Cream & Treatery
51 Elm St, Saco, ME 04072

maggie moo's ice cream and treatery saco maine

Only some decaying signage remains. Maggie must not have been tall enough to take ‘em down, and no one else had the heart to.

12. Dairy Queen
517 Main St, Saco, ME 04072
207 282-1963
dairyqueen.com

Another one, really? I tried to take a picture by holding my camera out my moon roof and pointing back at it. I missed and got a good shot of the gas station next door.

13. Martel’s Ice Cream
757 Portland Rd, Saco, ME 04072
207 283-1775

martel's ice cream saco maine me

This looks like the sort of homemade place that we definitely need to go back and check on. Lots of folks, fun rustic barn feel. How does it taste?

14. Dairy Corner
612 Us Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
207 883-6939

dairy corner ice cream scarborough maine

A zoo. Signs for everything you can hope to come out of a stand like this, heck there’s even a hot dog and frappe special for less than $5. And there’s a used book/record/DVD shop in the plaza next door.

15. Cold Stone Creamery
398 Us Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074
207 885-1330

coldstone creamery tim horton's scarborough maine ice cream

Actually part of the new thing where Cold Stone’s are sharing spaces with Tim Horton’s. Horton’s gets the breakfast crowd, Cold Stone doesn’t start happening until the afternoon and ne’er the twain shall meet.

16. Dairy Queen of South Portland
317 Main St, South Portland, ME 04106
207 799-0568
dairyqueen.com

Dairy Queen DQ of South So So. S Portland ME Maine Ice Cream

Figures. This is the last place on Route 1 before it folds into 295 and becomes an actual highway. Good timing though as it’s getting too dark for photos.

As I was nearing Portland, my pal Sean gave me a call so we knew where to meet up. In a bizarrely ironic twist of fate as I looked in my rearview mirror, I was being followed by an ice cream truck. While trying to figure out how to take his picture, he turned off. This is all I got:

good humor, bad website

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

